LARP, LLC Message Board
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to LARP, Questions?

5 posters

Go down

New to LARP, Questions? Empty New to LARP, Questions?

Post  darksideuser Thu May 06, 2010 1:38 am

Hello all,

I am new to the LARP community but interested in participating this coming summer. As far as role-playing, I do have some experience for I am the Grand Master of a group of Jedi and Sith at Morehead State University in KY and have been for about 4 years. So I am well-versed in swordsmanship and battle. The Medieval/Renaissance aspect will be new to me but I am sure I can adapt fairly quickly. I am not familiar with the point system except in aspects of games like WoW and Oblivion so I will have to learn to use them in actual RP (I was never a table-top gamer so I'm a bit of a noob here). I do however have an idea about my character:

Warrior Mage / Templar / Knight- Want to play a character that is mostly physical sword combat, but still throw out some fire or lightning damage in a pinch. My weapons would be a single sword and a staff.

Armor- Help here would be nice. Chainmail is probably not right for a warrior mage (don't know the proper term for this). So leather-ish? Thinking of leather greaves, chest, etc. over a robe of some form. And some form of crown or circlet with a jewel (nothing big really). Thinking of some form of one-arm full pauldron on my left arm (sword arm when dual-wending staff).

Backstory- Yet to be determined

Questions: So many armor and weapons dealers. What should I look for for this type of character? Certain materials for weapons preferable?

Thanks all,
DSU

darksideuser

Back to top Go down

New to LARP, Questions? Empty Re: New to LARP, Questions?

Post  Arvil Boulderbreaker Thu May 06, 2010 6:16 am

DSU,